window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'G-YWVXG5STH8'); AVR contingent run well at Drogo 10 meeting - East Devon Sport

AVR contingent run well at Drogo 10 meeting

 AVR contingent run well at Drogo 10 meeting

AVR members at the Castle Drogo event. Picture: AVR

Twenty-four AVR members travelled to Castle Drogo on Remembrance Sunday for the Drogo 10 race organised by South West Road Runners, writes Dave Mutter.

This is a challenging 10-mile multi terrain race that starts and finishes in the shadow of the magnificent Castle Drogo.

There are several steep climbs including the final climb to Drogo along the infamous energy sapping climb along the Hunters Path from Fingle Bridge, but the runners have stunning views of the Teign Valley wearing its Autumn colours.

A two-minute silence was held to remember all those who have died in conflict before the runners were sent on their way.

The course was drier than normal, and the finishers were rewarded with glorious Autumn sunshine and well-earned refreshments.

In terms of the AVR contingent and where they finished, it was Jack Broom who led them home as first AVR, finishing eighth overall in a field of 347 with his time being 1:08:29.

Several AVR’s collected prizes; Rob Collier was first Male Vet 50, 21st overall in a time of 1:14:10 and Eleanor Wood was the first Lady Vet 60 in a time of 1:26:23.

Other AVR finishers were; Richard Hardy, 20th (1:13:59); Ben Stone, 22nd (1:14:16); Rupert Pady, 35th (1:18:33); Chris Polley, 71st (1:26:57); Simon Davey, 83rd (1:28:51); Karen Eyre, 85th (1:29:01); Andy West, 90th (1:29:34); Ian Kinnersley, 93rd (1:30:07);  Kerry Board, 111th (1:32:14); She Hayes, 163rd (1:39:01); Jeremy Slade, 185th (1:42:22); Kevin Feeney, 205th (1:44:55); Jeremy Larcombe, 206th (1:44:58); Alan Morbey, 216th (1:47:44); Katherine Moran, 266th (1:54:05); John Larcombe, 273rd (1:54:26); Sam Miller, 279th (1:55:53); Tony Smith, 279th (1:55:53); Emma Richardson, 302nd (2:03:21); Sam Tooze, 305th (2:03:34) and Jason Hyde, 340th (2:30:28).

Related post