Bradninch II top the table – Devon League E Division East round-up

 Bradninch II top the table – Devon League E Division East round-up


In E Division East Honiton were 102 run winners when they hosted Budleigh II at Mountbatten Park. George Meadows (93), Kev Kelly (68), Dave Haysom (51) and Adam Holmes (37no), helped their side close on 303-5. Lee Russell (2-75) was the most successful of the bowlers for Budleigh who were then bowled out for 201. Leo Northover top scored for Budleigh with .63. Ron Ingram and Ian Kelly both claimed  four wicket hauls for the Mountbatten Park men.

Axminster went down by six wickets in their home game against a Bradninch II. After being out in, Axminster closed on 181-8 after their 45 overs. Skipper Paul Miller top scored with 63 and there were knocks of 26 from Andrew Guppy and Ben Webb. Bradninch got home thanks to a 57-ball century from Ankit Badwal. Alex Wraight (2-31) was the pick of the home bowlers and Ben Webb held three fine catches.

Ottery St Mary II won by a single wicket on their visit to Thorverton. Luke Tierney (2-28) was the most successful Ottery bowler as the home side closed on 240-5. Rob Johns (49), Richard Jackson (41) and Jack Malden (36) were the principle scorers for the Otters who edge home thanks to last pair Tom Jeacock (16no) and Max Mayor (5no) with the latter scoring a single off the final delivery of the day to win the game!

Woodbury & Newton St Cyres were four wicket winners of their game at Topsham St James. The home side batted first and were restricted to a total of 168-9. Ed Kirby and Jacob Taylor each contributed a score of 28 and James Matthews hit an unbeaten 15. Daniel Alford (3-20) and Becca Silk (2-41) were the main wicket takers for Woodbury & Newton St Cyres who sealed victory with four wickets and five overs to spare thanks to a fine knock of 76 from Ross Jarvis and an unbeaten 23 from skipper Nalin Chouhan. Ross Treleaven and Declan Wardell both bagged a brace of wickets for the Tops.

Clyst St George II won by the huge margin of 207 runs when they entertained Bideford, Littleham & Westward Ho. Stephen Bourke faced just 68 balls for his 120, a knock that included 18 fours and two sixes. Other contributions came from Oz Besley (47) and Will Furniss (27no) as Clyst St George closed on 308-8. Bideford Littleham & Westward Ho were then bowled out for 101 with Katie Donovan taking the bowling honours with her superb return of 5-28.

The E Division East table after one-third of the league season…

Bradninch II                                               86

Clyst St George II                                     75

Budleigh Salterton II                                 66

Thorverton II                                              65

Woodbury & Newton St Cyres                62

Honiton                                                      59

Ottery St Mary II                                        51

Bideford/Littleham/Westward Ho! II        51

Topsham St James                                  51

Axminster Town                                        31

Stephen Birley

Related post